Congrats to ACF Western Region Competition Winners

Chefs and students from the West gathered at the American Culinary Federation (ACF) Western Regional Culinary Salon to battle it out for ACF’s annual regional awards February 5-7 at The Academy of Arts, Careers & Technology, Reno, Nevada. Four competitions took place at the salon to determine who would receive ACF’s Western Region titles for Chef of the Year, Pastry Chef of the Year, Student Chef of the Year and Student Team Regional Championship.

The following ACF Western Region competition award winners will compete for their respective national titles at Cook. Craft. Create. Convention & Show, Phoenix, July 15-19.

ACF Western Region Chef of the Year, sponsored by Unilever Food SolutionsLenard Rubin, CEC, of Phoenix, is executive chef at The Country Club at DC Ranch, Scottsdale, Arizona.

ACF Western Region Pastry Chef of the Year, sponsored by Plugrá® European-Style ButterAndrew Corrao, CCC, CEPC, of Salt Lake City, is banquet/pastry chef at Bambara Restaurant, Salt Lake City.

ACF Western Region Student Chef of the Year, sponsored by Custom Culinary, Inc.Michelle Stephenson, of Provo, Utah, is a student at Utah Valley University (UVU), Orem, Utah, pursuing an associate degree in culinary arts. She is the night-shift kitchen lead at Station 22 Cafe, Provo.

ACF Western Region Student Team Championship, sponsored by Vitamix®ACF Bay Area Chefs Association of Oregon; students from Oregon Coast Culinary Institute, Coos Bay, Oregon.

Team members Kirsten Burt, Annie Sargent, Jasmine Howard, Tesia Campbell (captain), Alana Askew, Nathan Haritash (support) and Del Clark (support) competed against six other teams for the title. Randy Torres, CEC, AAC, coached.

Thank you to all competitors, judges and guests who attended!